Sinatra’s equal.

When I think of fog, I think of San Francisco, and when I think of San Francisco, I think of Tony Bennett.  I grew up listening to the kinds of music and artists my parents enjoyed listening to when they were growing up, then later when they were in their 20s and 30s, so we ran the gamut from Tony Bennet and Frank Sinatra to Led Zeppelin and Pink Floyd.  When I was a kid, there was a radio station in Chicago with the callsign WJJD, and they played what is referred to as “Singers & Standards” or sometimes “The Music of your Life.”  Basically pop music from the 1930s to just before the Beatles hit.  Perry Como, Rosemary Clooney, Andy Williams, Frank Sinatra, Tony Bennett, Gogi Grant, Patti Page, Dean Martin, Sarah Vaughan, Dinah Washington, etc.  I cut my musical teeth on that station, and when it folded in the mid-90s when I was in high school, I was crushed.  Now, thanks to online radio, I can listen to that style of music as much or as little as I want, but I can’t turn on my radio and do it, and that stinks.  I wish more people of my generation could appreciate those artists and what they accomplished.  I know I’d much rather listen to Tony Bennett’s greatest hits than whatever shit Justin Bieber is screeching into a microphone right now.

So, going back to the opening of my post, here’s your foggy musical interlude for the day.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/fog/

6 comments

  1. Love the man, and his peers from that generation/genre of music. Have a video of him & Willie Nelson singing On The Sunny Side Of The Street on my About page. 🙂
    Marianne

    Like

    • Beth · April 20, 2016

      That was an excellent watch; much like Tony’s album with Lady Gaga, they’re a duo you wouldn’t immediately think would work, but surprisingly it does.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Vonita · April 20, 2016

    This was so beautiful to watch, thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  3. Mark Aldrich · April 20, 2016

    And Mel Tormé’s nickname was “The Velvet Fog.” Another good one. I enjoy your blog–Mark

    Like

Tell me what you think!

