It doesn’t mean keep.

I know several people who have trouble with the concept of “borrowing” something.  See, when you borrow something, you use it for a specified length of time, then return it to its owner in the condition it was lent to you.  You do not need keep it indefinitely under the guise that you’re continuing to “borrow” it, particularly if you’re no longer using it.  Then it just becomes straight-up theft.  I understand that sweater looks nice on you, but it’s my sweater, not yours, and I would very much like it back.  You can always buy your own if you like it that much.  No, I understand it’s just easier to wear mine, but the key word in that sentence is “mine.”

Ugh.

Not necessarily speaking of clothes, but do you know how many books, CDs, DVDs, magazines, and other such items I’ve been relieved of over the years?  I don’t lend things to people anymore, not unless they’re family.  Then I can be guaranteed of getting it back because I know where they live, and I can just go retrieve it if need be.  I can’t break into a friend’s house or apartment to get a sweater or DVD or book back if they don’t return it on time.  I don’t like looking stingy or bitchy, but needs must.  I’ll help anyone if I can, but that doesn’t mean I’ll put myself in the position of being taken advantage of.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/borrowed/

5 comments

  1. NJ · April 24, 2016

    I have lost things in the same manner. Especially books. People take them and that’s the end of me seeing them. Ever.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth · April 24, 2016

      Over the years, I’ve replaced the books that magically grew legs and walked away, so I have them again, but a couple of the originals had sentimental value to me, and you can’t transfer that to a brand-new object.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ngobesing Romanus · April 24, 2016

    Some people do not lend things to others because they say what they lend is hardly returned.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. loisajay · April 24, 2016

    Neither a borrower nor a lender be. Words I live by.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. jacquelineobyikocha · April 24, 2016

    There are those who are professional borrowers with no intention to ever pay. Urrgh!

    Like

Tell me what you think!

