It’s not paranoia….is it?

I hate it when I hear people whispering anywhere around me.  I always fear they’re talking about me and whispering to keep me from overhearing them.  I know it’s ridiculous and borderline narcissistic to think everywhere I go, people absolutely have to be discussing me, but it’s something I just can’t shake.  I’ve had that nagging fear in the back of my mind since I was a child and someone actually was gossiping about me behind my back.  Ever since, I just automatically assume they are, even if they don’t know me from a hole in the wall.  For all I know, they’re making fun of what I’m wearing or what I look like.  As an overweight person, I’m always hyperaware of what I look like, not wanting to wear clothes that are too tight or sloppy, believing it not a good idea to draw further attention to myself than is absolutely necessary.

Am I the only person like this?  I can’t imagine I am.  It seems like something that’s almost universal.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/whisper/

4 comments

  1. Olive Ole · April 25, 2016

    I doubt that you are the only one that feels like this, but chances are that the whispereres are only whispering so you don’t hear the graphic discussion about their latest yeast-infection. Because. THEY are just as afraid of being judged by YOU as you are of being judged by them.

    Like

  2. rollingblogger · April 25, 2016

    I am like this. I also cannot stand when two people are whispering in a language I don’t know. Are they talking about me? Are they plotting something they don’t think anyone else can understand?

    Like

  3. Nope you’re not the only one, I do it too. I’m a bit of an introvert, okay a lot of an introvert, and being in large social settings can get really uncomfortable for me so that’s just one of the places I have trouble with it. But if reminds me of something I was told a long time ago … what other people think of me is none of my gosh darn business! 🙂
    Marianne

    Like

  4. Azalea Frost · April 10

    You’re not the only one; I share the same experience. But there would always be people whispering around you. Maybe they’re just talking about themselves, and I think most people are not stupid to talk about someone else in front of him or her, otherwise they are just mean.

    Like

Tell me what you think!

