Summertime’s calling me.

thailand-i-love-u

In a perfect and just world, I’d be typing this blog post from that hammock right about now, but instead, I’m sitting in cold, dreary, rainy North Carolina.  Bah humbug.  I love the beach, having gone a few times in my life, both when I was growing up in Chicago and again now that we live in NC.  Fortunately each time I was blessed with decent weather, because no one wants to go to the beach in the rain or the cold.  I’m not a fan of wearing a bathing suit in public, but I have a nice one that covers up everything I want to be covered, so it’s not as bad as it could be.  Give me enough sunscreen (SPF 100+), some cold water to drink, a book to read, and some music, and I’m good.

Just…can I make a public service announcement?  Ladies, if you’re bigger than say, a size 14 or 16….please don’t wear bikinis.  Just don’t.  There’s too much of you and not enough of it.  I get wanting to be sexy and cute and all that jazz, but there comes a point when reality must set in, and the reality is you’re too goddamn fat to wear that bathing suit.  The last time my sister and I drove out to the beach, which is about 3 ½ hours away, a woman a lot bigger than me started sashaying down the shore in a black bikini that looked like it was made for someone about a ⅓ her size.  It was disgusting.  You can be cute and sexy and wear something that fits, covers up all important parts, and flatters you.  So stop it.  Thank you.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/beach/

2 comments

  1. theitinerary1 · May 5, 2016

    Such a beautiful beach

    Like

    • Beth · May 6, 2016

      I definitely thought so! If I could spend a sunny afternoon swinging back and forth on that hammock, I would do it in a heartbeat. I’d finish up with a refreshing dip in that (hopefully) cool water. 🙂

      Like

Tell me what you think!

