Ad astra per aspera.

I was turned on recently to this incredibly amazing documentary called “In the Shadow of the Moon,” which is about the US space program in the 1960s, particularly the Apollo program, which ultimately made the first lunar landing in 1969.  There is no narration, all of the speaking is done by former astronauts like Buzz Aldrin, Michael Collins, Jim Lovell, John Young, Gene Cernan, and quite a few others.  It really is absolutely riveting.  If you haven’t seen it, I highly suggest you do as soon as possible.  I’ll link a video below that has the full documentary, albeit with non-English subtitles, so ignore them if you can.  These men were national treasures and American heroes, and it absolutely infuriates me that more people don’t recognize them and appreciate them the way they should be.  They strapped themselves inside a glorified tin can that sat on top of millions of pounds of rocket fuel and were shot into space.  They’re all old men now, so give them their due before they’re no longer around to share their experiences with us.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/shadow/

3 comments

  1. Ruth · May 6, 2016

    I remember watching that first lunar landing on a very fuzzy black and white TV – I was 5 years old at the time! 🙂

    Like

    • Beth · May 6, 2016

      My mom and dad were 19 and 20 respectively in July 1969, and they remember vividly sitting around the TV with their families, watching the landing and the moonwalk. I wish it was something I could have been alive to see, and I hope that sometime before I die, we go back to the moon, so the generations that have come after Apollo can experience something that exhilarating for themselves.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ruth · May 6, 2016

        To be honest I found it all really underwhelming, I had no idea what all the fuss was about and I thought the spaceman was really boring – but I did see it! 🙂

        Like

Tell me what you think!

