Being broke sucks.

That probably goes without saying, but having no money really bites the big one.  As a result, I’ve had to go without a lot of things I either want or need, which also sucks.  For example, I used to buy Gameday Audio every season so I could listen to Yankees games, but I wasn’t able to this year, and this year it particularly sucks because it’s Vin Scully’s last season calling Dodgers games, and I enjoyed listening to the first inning because it was simulcast from the SportsnetLA TV feed.  Another example is I used to buy a Starbucks frappuccino every Friday, but I can’t do that anymore.  Health issues aside, I just can’t afford the $6 each week.  I also can’t get a Subway sandwich every Saturday, which used to be my weekly dinner treat.

I know there are people in the world who have it far worse than I do, and my “sacrifices” pale in comparison to theirs.  Having to give up a weekly sandwich or coffee drink doesn’t quite match having to give up food in general or not paying a utilities bill so that you can eat.  Part of the reason I try hard not to dwell on how bad I have it, not just in regard to money, but other things going on in my life is because I know that there are people in far worse shape than me, and complaining about my problems just seems petty and stupid.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/sacrifice/

3 comments

  1. Margret · May 7, 2016

    I understand, sometimes our needs are not as big as others.

    Like

  2. True George · May 7, 2016

    Yep, having no money sucks

    Like

  3. whitec1971 · May 7, 2016

    Yes I must agree being broke does suck. However, I am learning slowly that looking at what others may be able to do in comparison to what I can is just a waste of good time that I will never get back. Financial sacrifice is hard but the other day I was thinking the lights are on and the mortgage is paid, so if I have to let a few of the things I like.. Well so be it I say. However, I understand and I do wish I had a few more greenbacks in my pocket. I pray for more money in your life soon.

    Like

Tell me what you think!

