What the HELL are they saying?!

Have any of you gone on Twitter or Facebook or Tumblr and really paid attention to what teenagers consider the English language?  I have, normally when I’m looking for an excuse to have a good cry.  All generations have their slang terms, I get that — my parents were born in 1949, so when they were teenagers, it was the late 60s, so they said “groovy,” and “far out,” and “peace, man” just like everyone else did.  I was born in 1982, so I was a teenager in the late 90s, and our slang terms were (mostly) holdovers from the Gen-X/grunge era earlier in the decade.

I see teenagers today yipping and yammering and I can’t figure out what the fuck they’re saying.  Bae?  On fleek?  Turnt?  Netflix and chill?  The last one I know, but I threw that in there because I know a lot of people that don’t know what it means, and the looks on their faces when they find out/figure it out are priceless.  I don’t remember my parents, or even older siblings of my friends, having a difficult time deciphering the meaning of, “Whoa dude, bummer.”  I have, on the other hand, had to actually ask someone to explain to me as though I were either stupid or didn’t speak English as my native language, just what in the hell “bae” means.

Kids today.  Bah humbug.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/generation/

2 comments

  1. jacquelineobyikocha · May 11, 2016

    Ha,ha! It’s just interesting that with each generation, something new crops up.

    Like

  2. luckyjc007 · May 12, 2016

    It’s their way of being creative. They don’t want to do what other generations have done. They want their own lingo!

    Like

Tell me what you think!

