I may be big, but I’m not stupid.

As any regular reader of the blog well knows, I’ve been struggling with my weight my whole life.  Well, since I was in high school.  So, nearly 20 years now.  People who see me might be surprised to find that I don’t eat or drink what overweight people either usually or stereotypically eat and drink.  For example, all I drink all day is water.  At least 1.5 L per day.  Sometimes I’ll have half or a third of a small bottle of Caffeine-Free Diet Pepsi, but that’s a rare instance.  I don’t drink coffee, I don’t drink milk, I don’t drink alcohol (I’ve never drank that), I don’t drink milkshakes or malteds or anything else of the like, no matter how delicious I know they are.  On the rare, rare, rare occasions I go out to breakfast with my family, I have a big glass of orange juice with it, but we’re talking about a once-a-year occurrence.

As for what I eat, I don’t eat fast food, I don’t eat junk food of any kind, I don’t eat a lot of salt/sugar/fat.  Most of that is because I don’t have the money to buy it as much as it is the fact it’s not good for me, but still.  It’s a great diet.  Every day for breakfast, except on Fridays when I have to plain cake donuts, I eat a bowl of Raisin Bran.  I can’t remember the last time I ate a hamburger, a taco, or a slice of pizza.  When I see overweight people, whether they’re smaller than I am or bigger, standing in line at fast food restaurants, I just cringe.  Have they any concept of how stupid they look?  You’re fat!  Eat a salad!  Hell, a peanut butter and jelly sandwich is cheap and healthier than McDonalds/Burger King/Taco Bell/Wendy’s/etc.  I’d personally love to eat more fruits and vegetables than I currently do, but they’re expensive, and I can only eat what I can afford, and I try to buy the healthiest stuff I can despite my budgetary limitations.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/healthy/

3 comments

  1. luckyjc007 · May 15, 2016

    Everyone has different metabolism’s and even when they are careful in what they eat, it is still difficult to keep their weight down and thinner people have the opposite problem…some can not put on weight too easily. I’ve seen children that give indication that they will one day be the same size as their parents. Some of this can be caused by the eating habits they develop while growing up, but not necessarily. Some stay at a normal weight, but others in the same family do not. There is always a medical question as well. Perhaps medicine is causing it or some other factor.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. dderbydave · May 16, 2016

    Dieting isn’t as straight forward as folk would have us believe. We decided to get it sorted out last year and have both lost just under two stone (20+ pounds). I have an active job and walk 5 miles on my days off. We’ve both got rid of sugar, the chip pan, pastry and late night eating. Fruit is a big part of my diet and the kids have latched on to this so we clear bags of the stuff every week.
    But it’s all about what works for you. Like Luckyjc007 said, we’ve all got different metabolisms, medical conditions and hard to break habits.
    It ain’t easy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth · May 16, 2016

      Like you, I too got rid of all the fast food, all the excess sugar, all the salt/fat/empty calories. My first tangible sign that I’ve lost weight was when I could comfortably sit in a lawn chair that used to be a very tight fit. I sat down in it a couple of days ago and actually gaped at the fact I could get into it and out of it comfortably. I’m not at the stage where my clothes are hanging off of me yet, but that’s a sign that I’m continuing to move in the right direction.

      Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think!

