I’m no Rosemary Clooney.

I love to sing…..to myself.  When I’m alone, and no one can hear me.  That’s mostly because I don’t want anyone to hear me and think I’m being brutally murdered, but I also don’t want any neighborhood cats to think I’m a female cat in heat.  Now, that’s a bit of hyperbole, I don’t sound quite that bad, but while I have been told I have a decent voice (by  no means a voice good enough to make a living with), I don’t sing in front of other people for the same reason I don’t act, tap dance, or tell jokes — I have a pathological fear of rejection and would probably pass out on the spot if someone said I sucked or something.  I can sing in a group with no problems, provided the group is big enough and my voice is pretty well hidden amongst everyone else’s.  Singing to myself is fun.  I’ll put the radio on or put an iTunes playlist (you saw how many I have and how varied they are) on shuffle and just start singing whatever starts playing, and I find it relaxing.  If I’m in a bad mood or I’m stressed out, it helps calm me down.

Speaking of George Clooney’s aunt, here is my favorite song of hers, from the movie White Christmas:

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/sing/

One comment

  1. NJ · May 21, 2016

    This reminds of Sister Act 2. There’s a sister who barely opens her mouth and pretends to sing in the background. You can’t hear her at all but in reality (in the movie) has an astonishing voice.

    Like

Tell me what you think!

