Proper PB & J protocols.

Peanut-Butter-Blueberry-Jelly-Sandwich

In almost any peanut butter commercial, someone will be making a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, and they always use smooth peanut butter for it.

This is not acceptable.

For starters, a good peanut butter and jelly sandwich is made on either sourdough bread or pumpernickel.  Keep that ridiculous spongy white Wonder Bread away from me.  I feel the same way about grilled cheese sandwiches, but that’s a different prompt altogether.  Anyway, you start with a good sourdough bread or pumpernickel.  Then, one one piece of bread, you spread Jif Extra Crunchy peanut butter.  Only Jif, and only Extra Crunchy.  You need texture for a good sandwich, and it keeps it from sticking to the roof of your mouth while you’re eating.  On the other slice of bread, you spread Smuckers’ Blackberry Jam.  I will also accept Smuckers’ Black Raspberry-Blackberry Jam, but no strawberry and no grape. You want a thin layer, so that when you bite into it, it doesn’t spill out and stain your clothes.  Press both slices together, slice in half, serve with a small handful of plain potato chips.  Anything aside from this is not a proper sandwich.  I’m sure this will anger the “Smooth Only” contingent or the “Strawberry/Grape Jelly Only” contingent, but I will not yield in this.  I’ve been eating my PB & J sandwiches like this since I was a kid, and whenever I want to revisit that childhood or remember when I was a little kid, that’s what I have.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/smooth/

One comment

  1. zorazebic · June 5

    Sounds yummy!

    Like

Tell me what you think!

