It’s not easy being fat.

I always have an inordinate amount of sympathy for people who, like me, have weight issues.  I’ve been heavy since high school, and in the 16 years since I graduated, it’s been a constant grind to get healthier and lose the weight.  I’m finally doing it, slowly but surely, however I just wish I’d been able to do it earlier, or that I’d never let myself get to this point to begin with.  Buying clothes is a challenge, and every time I go out in public, I’m always worried or afraid people are laughing and talking about me behind my back when I walk past.  I don’t like buying fast food anymore, though I do enjoy a Subway every now and again, only because I don’t like looking like the stereotypical fat person gorging themselves on hamburgers and fries.  Your self-esteem falls into the shitter when you’re overweight as well, and it doesn’t matter how many people say you’re pretty or you look nice in that outfit or whatever else, you don’t believe it, assuming they’re only saying it not to be rude.  It does a number on you.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/struggle/

13 comments

  1. 187puneet · June 14

    And here i am not able to gain weight. LOL

    Like

  2. helpthyselffaith · June 14

    I admire your honestly. Anything you set your mind to, you can do – struggle on my friend! Prayer helps, BTW 🙂

    Like

  3. helpthyselffaith · June 14

    I admire your honesty. Anything you set your mind to, you can do – struggle on my friend! Prayer helps, BTW 🙂

    Like

  4. Olive Ole · June 14

    Yes, the overweight does a number on ya. It is friggin difficult! After I lost 40 kilos (whats that, some 80 pounds? I don’t think Im too far off) selfesteem got better. Well, it actually got better and better for every kilo lost. But what REALLY scared me – is that people treat me diffrently now that Im of normal weight (or damn close to normal). I was convinced that was all in my head – but no – that actually happens! I wish you all the luck in the world with the weight loss, and I’ll be here cheering you on!

    Like

    • fatimaaidanawar · October 15

      I am a 100+ kilos girl.And I really want to lose an odd 40 kilos or so.How did u do it?I always try but never succeed.

      Check out my blog please.I write poems and short passages.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Olive Ole · October 15

        I did it by consuming less calories than I use. It is that simple – and that difficult! I changed my eatinghabits and after a while I added training.

        Liked by 1 person

        • fatimaaidanawar · October 15

          The thing is I can’t exercise even if I try.I can never go very far.I know that I should try and keep going but I feel so terrible and I always end up giving up.And I have tried diets but I always give in.I know that I have to build up the willpower but I’m afraid that by the time I’ll be completely ready,it will be too late:(

          Liked by 1 person

          • Olive Ole · October 15

            Exercise when you are heavy is hard. Wich is why I waited til I had shed approx 10 kg before I did that, except for walks that I have done always.

            Here is what I did, because diets always fails:

            I put the alarm on every TWO hours all through the day, and I ate a small meal every time. Small amounts of food – and often. I made sure I ate mostly proteine, to keep the blodsugar leveled, and the cravings at bay. I drank no calories! NO milk in my coffee! No soda! Not even fruitjuice! I drank only water, black coffee and unsweetened tea.

            I allowed myself to partake in bdays etc and have a very small piece of cake, because if I feel I am making sacrifices in bdays and occations, then I will fail the whole thing.

            I did not allow myself to make any excuses. Can’t exercise? Easy, move your body and dont call it exercise. Call it something else! Call it “going for a walk” or “taking the stairs”. Call it whatever you want – but just DO it! As soon as you feel a little lighter, you can move your body more, go for a longer walk.

            And most importantly – I had to finf other ways to both reward myself and cope with emotions than by stuffing things in my mouth.THAT was the hardest part!

            Liked by 1 person

          • Olive Ole · October 15

            But Im not going to sit here and tell you that it is easy! Because it IS hard!

            Like

  5. granonine · June 14

    I get it. And I will (note my generosity) acknowledge that the world “struggle” does indeed apply to trying to lose the weight my body works so hard at keeping.

    Like

  6. jotabouts · June 14

    It’s nice to see someone being honest with their emotions when it comes to weight. Weights always been a struggle for me and, when I lost my daughter, I didn’t do myself any favors. It takes a lot to lose weight, still working on it myself, and it’s hard when you have to live with the emotions that go with it. So good job and good luck as you keep working on your Be Healthy Journey!

    Like

Tell me what you think!

