Words to live by.

I’m really not one for pithy quotations, but there have been several I’ve heard/found over the years that either resonate with me or make me laugh or in some other way, make me remember them.  My all-time favorite has to be from Alice Roosevelt Longworth, Theodore Roosevelt’s eldest daughter.

“I have a simple philosophy — Fill what’s empty.  Empty what’s full.  Scratch where it itches.”

There’s something about the inherent honestness in it that I’ve always loved.  It speaks to not taking yourself seriously and just being happy, keeping your life as uncluttered and uncomplicated as possible, which I think more people could benefit from, frankly.  She also had another, more funny quote, which if I had the skills, would stitch onto a pillow: “If you don’t have anything nice to say, come sit by me.”  I love a good gossip, don’t you?

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/empty/

2 comments

  1. moondustwriter · June 22, 2016

    Great quotes – love em

    Like

  2. luckyjc007 · June 24, 2016

    I also like these quotes. I haven’t heard them before.

    Like

Tell me what you think!

