Your own worst enemy.

Self-fulfilling prophecies can be a pain in the ass, depending on what kind they are.  I’m sure there are positive or good prophecies out there, but it seems like the only ones I’m ever involved with or see for myself are the kind where you set yourself up for failure, then end up failing.  Think of it as negative visualization.  I’m guilty of doing it to myself more times than I can count, mostly related to dieting.  I convince myself that there’s no way I’ll lose any weight, even though I’m exercising more and eating less, so it doesn’t matter what I do.  I’ll go have some fast food or something and find I’ve actually gained a couple of pounds, when I go to weigh myself later on.  I think most people are, as the title suggests, their own worst enemy.  No one can derail your plans anywhere near as well as you can.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/prophecy/

2 comments

  1. Shiva Malekopmath · June 25, 2016

    ” No one can derail your plans anywhere near as well as you can.”
    Beautifully said, apt to the title also.
    Regards,
    Shiva

    Like

  2. FyzaZubs · June 25, 2016

    This is often the case with a lot of people, and the example you gave is perfect. Because we think we can’t, we already set ourselves up for failure, even when we try. It’s takes a lot of self belief to achieve something we doubt. I too wrote on the idea of a self-fulfilling prophecy if you’d want to check it out.

    https://cultureeighteen.wordpress.com/2016/06/25/self-fulfilling-prophecy/

    Thank you! Have a good day 🙂

    Like

Tell me what you think!

