Nocturnal requirements.

In order for me to have a successful and comfortable night’s sleep, several requirements must be met:

  • It must be quiet.
  • It must be cool to chilly.
  • It must be pitch black.

If any one of those boxes aren’t ticked, I can’t sleep.  To make sure it’s pitch black, I wear a sleep mask over my eyes, because I can’t block out every single little dot of light from getting into my bedroom, even with the door and blinds closed.  My fan has a light on it, my alarm clock is obviously lit up, the little green light on my laptop charger is glowing (that shows the battery is charged), and there’s light from the hallway outside my room that obviously shines underneath the door.  This is why I have a hard time sleeping during the day unless I’m really, really sick and the illness and/or medication knocks me out.  Am I the only person weird like this or are some of you also absurdly particular about the conditions that are necessary for you to get a good night’s sleep?  If you’re like me, share some of your essential sleep needs in the comments below.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/darkness/

2 comments

  1. boringbug · July 7

    I have a weird requirement too. I need to feel sleepy before I can “sleep”.

    Like

  2. Pingback: ‘Your experience? A billionth of my own’ | Ramisa the Authoress

Tell me what you think!

