How much longer do we have to wait?

Thanksgiving is maybe probably definitely my favorite food holiday of the year.  The turkey’s great and all, but it’s the side dishes that are really the best.  First, we have my mom’s meat dressing, which is basically bread dressing with hamburger cooked into it.  It’s something her grandmother made every year when she was little, and my grandmother made it, and now my mom makes it too.  Then we have roasted Brussels sprouts.  My mom makes that for me since I’m not the hugest fan in the world of green bean casserole.  Of course, there is green bean casserole, since I’m fairly sure it’s against the law to not provide it.  My sister’s boyfriend doesn’t care for meat dressing, so my mom makes mashed potatoes so he’ll have something else to eat aside from turkey and vegetables.  Rounding out the table are cranberry sauce and biscuits.  One of my favorite sandwiches to make with the leftovers is to spread some cranberry sauce on two slices of bread (15-grain Wheat), put a few pieces of warm turkey on top, then a smear of dressing.  Smoosh it together, cut it, eat it.

When is November? Is it tomorrow??

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/feast/

3 comments

  1. Vonita · July 19, 2016

    Sounds wonderful!

    Like

  2. granonine · July 19, 2016

    ‘K, I’m going to have to try your turkey sandwich. Don’t know why I’ve never thought about putting cranberry sauce in it. Genius 🙂

    Like

    • Beth · July 24, 2016

      It’s very good. You won’t regret it. My sister’s boyfriend turned me on to eating turkey and cranberry together, as I’d never eaten it before surprisingly enough, and now, I look forward to it every year.

      Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think!

