Happy little trees.

I can’t paint for shit.  I have no artistic bones in my body when it comes to visual arts like drawing, painting, sculpture, graphic design, etc.  I love to write, and I love to be artistic with words, but that’s the extent of my abilities.  I watch The Joy of Painting with Bob Ross every Monday, and I’m always in awe of what he was able to do in just half an hour.  I know the wet-on-wet technique he used had been around for centuries by the time he made it into a TV show, but I think if you gave me a canvas, the brushes/knives, the paints, and five hours, I couldn’t do a tenth of what he did in substantially less time.  I’ve always been absurdly jealous of people who are artsy-fartsy like that.  I have a lot of blank space on my walls I’d love to fill with beautiful artwork, but I can neither paint it myself, nor buy it.  As a corollary to being jealous of artistic people, I’d love to be able to play the piano.  Seth MacFarlane’s sense of humor isn’t quite what I enjoy, but he’s a ridiculously talented man.  He can draw, he can play piano, he can sing like Frank Sinatra, he can do any number of different voices, he can write orchestration…a renaissance man, really.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/paint/

3 comments

  1. Pingback: Paint – Her Snippets
  2. Dean · August 7, 2016

    I’m also very envious of people who are artistic like you’ve explained. It’s a great skill to have!

    Like

  3. Sue · August 7, 2016

    I love Bob Ross and his happy little trees! Have faith…I actually painted something from Pinterest (with step by step instructions) and it kinda turned out okay. I am the least likely on Earth to pull it off….if I can, you can. Go with it! Have fun:-). You can always paint over it and call it abstract art and likely sell it for thousands of dollars:-).

    Like

Tell me what you think!

