It’s a two way street, folks.

Do you ever get irritated by people that don’t help carry a conversation?  I’m not the best conversationalist in the world, so talking to people in social settings is difficult for me, but I do my best to be a part of what’s happening so that if someone asks me a question, I can respond in a timely fashion.  I have unfortunately found myself sometimes talking to someone who is even worse than me, and it’s like pulling teeth to get more than a few words out of them.  The first time it happened, I wondered if I’d misjudged the person and English wasn’t their first language, the second time I thought maybe they were autistic and had trouble with language skills.  The third time, I finally realized they were even more uncomfortable with talking to strangers than I was, and told them it was fine, I got it.  They loosened up a little after that.  That one person was the exception, though. The other times I’ve been in that situation, the other person wasn’t active in the conversation because they were rude or an asshole, mostly both.  THOSE people I hate.  If you don’t want to talk to people, stay in the corner, or politely turn down requests to join in the topic.  Don’t turn into a giant black hole, sucking all the fun out of everything until it collapses in on itself.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/carry/

One comment

  1. mellissalalondeblog · August 16

    Oh my gosh! I love your honesty in your posts! I have a hard time starting conversations and can totally relate to this! It actually happened this weekend and I just finally walked away and found someone else to talk with! It takes two, people!!

    Like

Tell me what you think!

