They don’t exist.

I don’t believe in ghosts.  I also don’t believe in goblins, ghouls, demons, sprites, fairies, witches/warlocks, poltergeists, or spirits.  Maybe it’s because I’m an atheist, but I don’t remember believing any of those things were real when I was a kid, and I didn’t even know what atheism was back then.  I think it’s cute when little kids believe in ghosts and goblins and what not, just like it’s cute when they believe in Santa Claus and the Tooth Fairy.

Grown adults, on the other hand?  I give them some side-eye for that.  If you’re old enough to drive a car at the bare minimum, that stuff should be several years behind you.  I quit believing in Santa Claus the year I recognized the handwriting on the gift tag as my mother’s.  The next year, it was my dad’s.  After that, they stopped writing “From Santa” and started writing “From Mom & Dad.”  To me, ghosts/goblins/ghouls/etc. are no different.  It seems a very childlike thing to be afraid of, and adults with the ability to reason and use logic in a way that kids cannot, should be smart enough not to believe any of that junk.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/ghost/

3 comments

  1. Wizard Tom · August 17

    Fantastic post! My thoughts EXACTLY! People need to grow up!

    Like

  2. Sheryl · August 17

    An interesting perspective. IMO it is fun to believe in something fantastical if only for the duration of a book or movie.

    Like

Tell me what you think!

