Call me Methuselah.

I’m only 34 years old, which is hardly ancient, but when I hear teenagers or 20-somethings speak, I feel like I’m 109.  I turn on the local Top 40 station, and I don’t recognize any of the artists or songs.  You know the expression, “Youth is wasted on the young”?  I think there’s some truth to that.  It’s not so much that I wish I was young again, because there are aspects of being my age right now that I really love, though I wouldn’t turn down the chance to do the last 18 years over again, it’s more that I don’t want to feel like I’m living on an entirely different planet, speaking an entirely different language.

Also, this comment goes out to everyone 18-34 — VOTE.  You are the part of the electorate with the lowest turnout every goddamn time, and it’s infuriating.  Giving a fuck about who runs the country, to say nothing of your local area and state, is not something for older people to worry about.  You live here too, right?  THEN FUCKING VOTE.  Don’t stay home and play Pokemon Go or wait for your bae to text you about doing a little Netflix and Chill.  VOTE VOTE VOTE.  Educate yourselves about what’s going on and why this election, more than any other in recent history, is so vitally important.  You always claim politicians don’t give a shit about issues facing young people, but if you don’t vote, if you don’t let your voices be heard, you’re going to keep getting ignored, and your constant need for victimization will continue.

VOTE.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/youth/

Tell me what you think!

