6 years to go.

No, I’m not talking about me, I’m still 16 years away from 50, but rather, how long my parents have been married.  They were married January 22, 1972, so it’s been 44 years so far — I have friends whose parents are on their second or third spouses by now, and my parents are still going strong.  I sometimes wonder if they’ll increasingly become archaic in that sense.  Some people don’t get married because they don’t want to, others get married several times before it’s all said and done.  They’re both Baby Boomers, so maybe that has something to do with it, I don’t know.  They love to joke that the only reason they’re still married is because no one else will have them, but I don’t think that’s entirely true.  They’ve never been the most outwardly affectionate people, in that I can count on two hands and have fingers left over the number of times I’ve seen them hug or kiss one another, but I know they love each other, and really, that’s all that matters.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/fifty/

2 comments

  1. serging ahead · August 22, 2016

    It’s not archaic, they probably just love each other. I will have only been married for 10 years next year but we have been together for 21 years (pretty long compared to all our friends) and we just love each other. Marriage is just a legal term for a relationship it doesn’t guarantee happiness, we don’t focus on being married we focus on our relationship.

    Liked by 1 person

    • knowmyheartblog · August 22, 2016

      I agree completely. If you focus on the numbers and/or statistics, you often lose site of the more important things. Things like feelings, communication, consideration and love. You know, the stuff that makes a marriage work.

      Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think!

