I had to have my gallbladder removed.

In case you were wondering where I went all this week, I was at Forsyth Medical Center in Winston-Salem having major abdominal surgery.  I didn’t have the world’s best diet, and as a result, I developed gallstones.  One of those gallstones, about 7 mm in diameter, got stuck in my common bile duct and caused excruciating pain, the kind that had me doubled up in bed all night Monday and all morning Tuesday.  Finally at about 6:00 a.m., I went downstairs and told my parents that they’d have to take me to the hospital, that I couldn’t go on another hour like that.  They took me to the local hospital in Kernersville where I live, and they did an ultrasound, confirming the presence of gallstones.  From there I was transferred to the major hospital, where I had two procedures done —

  1. An ECRP, which is an endoscopic procedure that uses a balloon at the end of a catheter to push the gallstone out of the bile duct and into my intestines so I can…well…poop it out. Such fun.
  2. The gallbladder removal itself, which was yesterday.  Its full name is “laparoscopic cholecystectomy.”  I have four incisions in my abdomen; one near my bellybutton, which is where the camera went in, and then three others.  They hurt, but more like a dull ache kind of hurt, as opposed to a stabbing, shooting pain kind of hurt.

Essentially, this is all my fault.  I didn’t take care of myself the way I should, and as a result, learned a very painful and expensive lesson. Don’t let this happen to you. Please be smarter than I was.

Tell me what you think!

