Out of touch old person here.

I know I’m only 34, but sometimes I feel a lot older than that.  It seems like teenagers today are entirely different animals to what teenagers were like when I was that age, which was only 16 years ago.  I mean, that’s the last year of Clinton’s administration.  By Clinton I mean Bill, since, you know, we’ll have to differentiate between the two.  I don’t know how much social media is the culprit for this, but I’d have to imagine it’s rather high.  We didn’t have YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Tinder, Instagram, Snapchat, or even MySpace (remember that??) when I was in high school.  There were no smartphones.  No one I knew even owned a cell phone of their own.  I didn’t even have my own computer until I started my sophomore year of college.  I feel like teenagers/young adults nowadays take a lot of stuff for granted, on top of being insufferably smug about many other things.  You know the expression, “Youth is wasted on the young”?  Well, I think there’s some truth to that.

Also, can someone please explain to me what “on fleek” means?  I mentioned it in my post yesterday, and I’ve talked about the expression in earlier posts, but I’ll be damned if after all this time I’ve managed to figure out what the hell it means, particularly in relation to one’s eyebrows.  I assume it’s a positive statement, meant to denote something attractive, but who decided to come up with a whole new expression just for eyebrows?  That’s such a random, inane thing.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/perplexed/

8 comments

  1. mjennings · September 14

    I can so relate, and it gets progressively worse the more you age (as it is with every generation onward). I don’t understand even half of what my students are talking about…”on fleek,” “slay,” “bae”…I mean, what the hell?

    Liked by 2 people

    • Beth · September 15

      My sister is 29, and she teaches 7th graders — she feels 30 years older than them sometimes, just based on the things they talk about and say. Were we that ridiculous when we were younger???

      Liked by 1 person

      • mjennings · September 15

        I think we undoubtedly were (shames me to think of the trends and slang during my days of the 1980s).

        Like

  2. Suze · September 15

    according to my 12 year old grand daughter “on fleek” is a “stupid saying for stupid people that don’t know any English. It means that something is done extremely well, like Peaches eyebrows”. I am assuming someone out there know how a peach gets eyebrows as it is now completely beyond comprehension!

    Liked by 1 person

    • sdcannon · September 15

      Lolll!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Beth · September 15

      A quick perusal of Wikipedia tells me Peaches is an entertainer of some sort. Based on what I read about her work, she’s not someone whose oeuvre I plan on buying any time soon. I’ll stick to Sinatra.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. sdcannon · September 15

    My 14 year old has an instagram that she holds more dear than her family! I’m trying to prevent her getting that social media bug that I used to have but so far I’ve only been able to hold it at bay with IG. #cry

    Sam

    Like

  4. Morecoffeeplease · September 23

    Not for nothing, but it’s completely natural to take things for granted if those things are a normal part of the world you’re growing up in. Today’s teenagers take smartphones and streaming media and tablets and Twitter for granted because they’re part of the experience of being alive here and now. Nothing wrong with that at all. Let’s not fall into the trap of railing against people just because they happened to have been born at a different time than we were.
    Once those teenagers grow up, they’ll have the time and the necessary perspective to realize that things like grocery stores and paved roads and clean drinking water are blessings. (You do know that they are, right?) Until then they’re just kids being kids. Cro-Magnon parents probably huffed disgustedly about their own teenagers not appreciating traditional flint points or something.

    Like

Tell me what you think!

