Worst. Read. Ever.

Gravity’s Rainbow by Thomas Pynchon is often considered one of the greatest pieces of American literature in the 20th century.

I’ll be damned if I can figure out why.

It’s not the worst book I’ve ever read, that honor goes to a few other tomes, but it is by far the worst read I’ve ever forced myself to get through.  I’m one of those people who, when they start something, finishes it, even if it damn near kills them, and this was one of those times.  It’s a very long book, with complicated jump cuts from plot point to plot point, and you go from one character speaking to another when neither are in the same scene…it’s like riding a roller coaster backwards, upside down, and blindfolded.  You never know where the hell you are at any given point in time.  I started reading the book in 2009, and I finally finished it about 3 years later.  It took me that long to finally get through it.  I’d read for a while, throw the book at the wall, then not pick it up for months.  Then, I’d feel like crap about that, pick it up again, read some more, get angry again…so forth and so on.  It felt like a never-ending vicious cycle, but I was committed to seeing it through to the end, which I did.  I will never, that being said, ever read the book again.  If I tried, I’d probably have a nervous breakdown.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/slog/

9 comments

  1. Suze · September 15, 2016

    Gravity’s rainbow is not the worst book I have ever read..it is though the most incredibly convoluted story ever to be published. One that has no rhyme nor reason for existing beyond the author’s determination to get published. I never did finish the danged thing. I tried, oh how I tried though. Congratulations on its completion. Now do the right thing and throw it away.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth · September 15, 2016

      I never throw books away, but I do donate them if I know I’m never going to touch them again. There’s a great little bookstore in my town that sells used books, and they’re always looking for donations. I could also take it to Goodwill, but I think the bookstore would be a better bet of it eventually being purchased by someone who wants to read it.

      Calling it convoluted is being kind, and I always hate slamming books because I feel like it’s disrespectful to the author who put so much time into writing it, but I’m college-educated and (I think) a smart person…it made me feel stupid. I don’t like feeling stupid.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. okotoenigma · September 15, 2016

    How can I tag #postaday in my post? I’ve tried but my post still isn’t showing here; in this page
    http://okotoenigma.wordpress.com

    Like

    • Beth · September 15, 2016

      When you’re on the New Post page, on the left side of the screen, you should see a section with “Categories & Tags,” “Featured Image,” “Sharing,” etc. Click on Categories & Tags. You should see the word Tags and then a text box. That’s where you would type “postaday” minus the quote marks.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. sdcannon · September 15, 2016

    Agreed.

    Like

  4. scrambledbacon.com · September 15, 2016

    One of many books on my “never-ever-to-be-finished” book list.

    Like

    • Beth · September 15, 2016

      The number of people I know who have tried to finish reading that book far exceeds the number of people I know who have successfully finished it. I’m pretty sure its sole reason for existence is just to infuriate people.

      Liked by 1 person

      • scrambledbacon.com · September 15, 2016

        LOL You might just be right about that.

        Like

Tell me what you think!

