Proud to be political.

I was raised by my parents to be informed about the world around me.  When I was in grammar school, I could tell you who the mayor of Chicago was, who our governor was, and who our neighborhood alderman was.  I didn’t get interested in national politics until I was in high school, but even before then, I could say who our senators and representatives were.  It boggles my mind when kids nowadays know jack shit about government, politics, and civics, to say nothing of adults knowing equally as much.  I just don’t understand how you can want your children to be ignorant.  There’s a difference between political and knowledgeable, however.  Knowing who their state’s Congresscritters are or who the President/Vice-President are should suffice.  I don’t like when I see younger kids screaming slogans and chanting, regardless of which side they’re on.  Leave that irritating shit to adults.  99% of the time, they have no idea what they’re saying, or what effect it’s having on other people, and I hate seeing little kids used as props because their parents are too cowardly to do it themselves.

When it comes to adults who have no idea what the hell is going on, that just depresses me to the point I almost laugh.  How you can live in this country and pay taxes in this country and not know the barest basics of how government or politics work should be shameful and embarrassing, yet it never is.  These are the people constantly bitching about how they don’t like what’s happening, but they don’t get off their asses to vote for people to do the things they want to see happen.

I’d love to see compulsory voting instituted in the United States.  All citizens 18 and older who haven’t been convicted of a felony will be required to vote, and if they don’t, they should be forced to scrub toilets in a homeless shelter or something.  Enough of this shit.  If you’re going to live in this country, you’re going to damn well give a damn.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/passionate/

2 comments

  1. Olive Ole · September 18

    Thank you for this post. I agree and also disagree. I agree that we all could stand to be a little more informed about our communities, big and small, young and all. I think it is important that when we make choises, as of who to vote for, it better be an informed choise.

    Then also, having the right to vote, must also include the right NOT to – just like the freedom of religion must also include atheists. And the right to bear arms must also include a choise NOT to bear arms.

    On a personal note, I am currently an expat, which means that I am not allowed to vote in the primeministerelection. Not that I would have known who to vote for, as we had just arrived here – it did feel very weird not vote at all…

    Liked by 2 people

  2. jadanner1 · September 18

    You make some good points in this post!

    Like

Tell me what you think!

