Silence is golden.

I’m sure you’ve all heard the joke, “Silence may be golden, but duct tape is silver.”  I’m in no way advocating taping anyone’s mouth shut with duct tape, as that stuff can rip off skin when you try to remove it.  I just thought it was a good lead-in for what I’m actually going to talk about.  For me, silence IS golden.  I love to talk to others (provided I have something worthwhile to say), but I also enjoy complete and utter quiet as well.  I don’t like being surrounded by noise all the time.  My brain needs time to decompress and wind down, especially at night, and being around chatterboxes 24/7 would drive me insane.

To start with, I don’t always have something to say.  I don’t talk just to hear the sound of my own voice.  If someone asks me a question or engages me in conversation, I’ll happily chat away with them, but I don’t just randomly initiate anything, nor do I prattle on past the point of having anything worthwhile to contribute.  As such, I find huge chunks of the day going by where I haven’t said a word to anyone about anything.  Secondly, I don’t think the absence of conversation means something is amiss.  It means no one has anything to say, which is perfectly fine.  I don’t think it’s normal or natural to always have to say something from the time you wake up to the time you go to bed.  I know people who hate “dead air” and will talk about the most inane things just to make sure it doesn’t get too quiet for too long.  Not every thought that finds its way into your brain deserves to be spoken aloud.  Or typed on the Internet.  To paraphrase Ron White, the next time you have a thought…just let it go.  Lastly, I need quiet to concentrate sometimes, and if I’m reading or if I’m not feeling well or if I’m doing something like sewing or a crossword puzzle, I need that quiet to make sure I don’t screw up, lose my place, or what have you.

In short, shut up and learn to appreciate silence.  It won’t kill you.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/silence/

2 comments

  1. articlewrit · September 20, 2016

    silent is also a strong word.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sdcannon · September 20, 2016

    Inviting all the quiet I can going forward.

    Like

Tell me what you think!

