On pointe.

wooooooooooooooooooWhen I was a very little girl, I wanted to be a ballerina.  I thought they were so pretty with their pink tutus and pointe shoes, and I loved the way they’d spin around on their toes and leap in the air…I still love the ballet, even all these years later.  I was rather rudely woken from that dream when I didn’t grow any taller than 5’3.  Even if I never did it professionally, I still wished I could have done it in my spare time as exercise or something. Alas, I can do the positions of the feet/arms, and I can attempt a quasi-arabesque, but that’s it.  To say I’m jealous of women that can do that kind of stuff seemingly with no effort is an understatement.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/graceful/

4 comments

  1. hitherandyond · October 1

    Is it true you have to be over a height requirement for ballet?

    Like

    • Beth · October 1

      I don’t know, but I would imagine most ballet companies prefer dancers, both male and female, that are tall, or at least taller than I am. You don’t need to be a certain height to learn ballet, but much like modeling, if you’re going to make a living at it, that would be different.

      Like

      • hitherandyond · October 1

        I see, thanks for letting me know! Also I don’t think you should stop with your dreams of ballet. You should attend ballet classes even if you are only 5’3 you never know!

        Like

  2. kurtislunz · October 1

    Cool Post, and witty title It reminds of a story a buddy told me. He was a soccer play, and he wanted to be tall to be better. I guess 6 FT was his goal. So, as a kid he said, he prayed every day until he reached 6 FT tall; then, he stopped praying. He joked they he should’ve have kept praying he might have grown a lot taller.

    Like

Tell me what you think!

