Give me the real thing.

GO CUBS GO, GO CUBS GO…HEY CHICAGO, WHAT DO YOU SAY, THE CUBS ARE GOING TO WIN TODAY!!!

I was born and raised on the North Side of Chicago, in the Albany Park neighborhood, so the Cubs winning the pennant last night was one of those things I never thought I’d live to see, no matter what. My dad actually fell to his knees in the living room after that final double play. Now beat the goddamn Indians!

*********************************************

It would be easy to focus this on artificial flavorings in food and drink, as they are truly disgusting, but instead, I’m talking about artificial feelings. You know, people pretending to feel something they don’t, either to fit in, placate someone, or ingratiate themselves to someone. If there’s anything I hate, it’s someone faking emotion. I see this a lot when people die. I don’t necessarily mean just when celebrities die, though that particular kind of faux melancholy is especially irritating. I mean when someone you know loses someone, whether it’s a parent, sibling, child, spouse, or a friend. If you didn’t know the deceased, it’s okay to not be devastated by their death. I don’t expect people to fall to pieces when someone they don’t know well or even at all, dies. When you come at me looking like your entirely family was just devoured by a velociraptor, I’m going to get pissed off, because it looks like you’re faking grief for attention. People like that are just disgusting.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/artificial/

Tell me what you think!

