It’s Meat Dressing Day!

I think I should probably explain the title.

The day before Thanksgiving is the day my mom makes her famous meat dressing, as it can’t be put into the turkey hot, and since she starts cooking the turkey early in the morning, it has to be made the day before so it can sit and get cold.  The meat dressing is a very old family recipe, going back to my great-grandmother I believe, and we always eat it on Thanksgiving in place of regular bread dressing or mashed potatoes.  It’s essentially bread dressing, but you add hamburger to it.  I don’t know anyone else who makes it aside from my mom, and she only makes it this time of year, even though she could make it whenever.  I think that’s what makes it so special.  My dad has the “tradition” if you will of tasting it once it’s done, and he stands over The Big Blue Pot™ with a spoon, taking chunks out to do “quality control,” which is ridiculous because my mother’s cooking is phenomenal. I think he just can’t be bothered to wait for lunch the next day to eat some. LOL.

Tomorrow, I’ll tell all of you the turkey story, which is another famous tradition in our house, and if you don’t think it’s as stupid as I think it is, I’ll have told it wrong.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/anticipation/

2 comments

  1. granonine · November 23

    Sounds as if it could be a meal all by itself. I’m thinking I’m going to have to try that 🙂

    Like

    • Beth · November 24

      It’s delicious! It’s an interesting alternative to bread dressing or cornbread dressing, which most people have on Thanksgiving, or even mashed potatoes. It sounds like it would be too much to have for lunch or dinner, on top of everything else we eat for Thanksgiving, but it surprisingly isn’t. You’re not using that much hamburger. I think my mom uses a little less than a pound, and it not only fills the bird, but fills two huge casserole dishes.

      Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think!

