The year of the Reaper.

I was cracking (somewhat) wise about this on Twitter Sunday night, after news of George Michael’s death broke, but next year’s Grammys/Oscars telecasts will have In Memorium segments longer than the shows themselves. I can’t think of another year off the top of my head where so many big-name, high profile celebrities died. I mean, David Bowie, Glenn Frey, Prince, Merle Haggard, George Michael…and that’s just music. People will be standing and clapping so long, that’ll be all they’re doing. Does anyone else feel like 2016 has been almost monumentally shittier than other years in recent memory? I mean, even if you leave out Brexit and Herr Trumpenfuhrer, it just seemed like a really shitty year. At least the Cubs won the World Series. We can say that much. I’d say I hope 2017 is better, but…Herr Trumpenfuhrer. It ain’t gonna be. Normally I applaud the end of one year because I can’t wait for the new one to begin, but this time, while I’ll be glad to see the back of 2016, I’m not exactly chomping at the bit to see 2017. Next year isn’t going to be much better than this one is.

Why stand and applaud and be excited?

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/ovation/

One comment

  1. geminilvr · December 27

    just trashed 2016 in my daily prompt too – hated this year too

    Like

Tell me what you think!

