Not rude, just quiet.

It’s something I’ve heard before, from both strangers and acquaintances alike. I’m not a talkative person, and I have a touch of social anxiety, so when I’m in a situation where I don’t know people or someone just starts talking to me, out of the blue, I have a difficult time carrying on a conversation. I’ve lived in my neighborhood for going on nine years now, and I don’t know any of our neighbors by name except one. Maybe it’s because I was born and raised in Chicago, in a very urban environment, and had been taught from a young age not to talk to strangers unless they were a cop or firefighter, I don’t know. I’ve been called rude, icy, standoffish, unfriendly, you name it. It’s difficult to articulate to people face-to-face why small talk is sometimes hard for me. If I know you, that’s great. I’m great fun if we’re friends.

I don’t have that problem online. I’ve made a lot of great friends on Twitter, none of whom I’ve ever met, but through text, I can talk to anyone, just like I’m talking to all of you. If all my readers were sitting in the same room with me, though…..

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/interior/

One comment

  1. All you need to do is smile at your neighbors 😄

    Like

Tell me what you think!

