The beat goes on….

I was turned on to a new genre (new to me, anyway) of music, rather accidentally. I was randomly scrolling through videos on YouTube when I stumbled upon a user, Dan Bell I believe, who takes tours of dead or dying shopping malls. The music he features at the beginning and end of each video is called “vaporwave/aesthetic,” and I had never heard that before in my life. Off to Wikipedia I went, and this is what it told me.

Vaporwave (British English: vapourwave)[10] is a type of electronic music [11] that originated during the early 2010s and spread over the next half of the decade among various Internet communities. It is characterized by a nostalgic or surrealist fascination with entertainment, technology and advertising (particularly of the 1980s and 1990s), and styles of both corporate and popular music such as lounge musicsmooth jazz and elevator music. Artists often embrace classical sculpture, web design, surrealism, capitalism, low-poly computer renderings, glitch artVHSrecordings, cassette tapesJapanese art and cyberpunk tropes.[11][1][not in citation given] Sampling is prevalent within the genre, with samples often pitched down, layered or altered (earlier in a classic chopped and screwed style).

Needless to say, this was very new to me. So, I read the Description box underneath the video and saw a link to the artist’s Bandcamp page and checked out their work. I have to say, it’s quite good. Definitely not what I’m used to listening to, considering my tastes run more Pink Floyd and Frank Sinatra than anything contemporary, but I’m always willing to expand my musical horizons.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/aesthetic/

2 comments

  1. Margarita · January 18

    Wow! Never occurred to me Pink Floyd is now retro. Where did the time go? lol 😉 xoM

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Madeline Scribes · January 18

    OMG! You made me super old when you used Pink Floyd and Frank Sinatra in the same sentence. I love the way your mind works! 🙂 Thanks for turning me on to a new musical genre too.

    Like

Tell me what you think!

