Let’s call it a two-way word.

Oversight is one of those interesting words that has two opposite meanings, all while retaining the same pronunciation. “Wind” and “wind” are both spelled the same, but they mean different things depending on how you say it. Oversight is said the same, whether you mean it one way or another — either the omission of something due to carelessness, or the supervision of something to prevent carelessness. Just off the top of my head, I can’t think of any other word this applies to, though I know this example is far from the only one. What other words out there have completely opposite meanings to one another, yet retain the same spelling/pronunciation? I don’t mean a word with several different definitions like “chair,” I’m talking about a word that has two diametrically opposed meanings.  I’m totally drawing a blank.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/oversight/

Tell me what you think!

