Call me uncomplicated.

I’ve always been a person of very simple tastes. I don’t wear expensive or overly fussy clothes, I don’t eat gourmet, expensive foods, and I don’t enjoy activities that require a lot of money or extravagant equipment to perform. Maybe it’s because I grew up middle class, and I don’t know any better. I suppose if I grew up with money, or grew up with more advantages than I did, I would enjoy the “finer things,” but I’ve made it nearly 35 years without them, and I think I’m doing alright. I wouldn’t mind having a bit more money so I could maybe upgrade a few things, but I’m always going to be a very modest person of simple tastes regardless. One of my favorite dishes to make, and my mom’s to make as well, is a hamburger casserole. You take a pound of hamburger and brown it up. While you’re doing that, cook some short-cut pasta. Shells, elbows, or radiatore work well. Once everything is cooked, pour them both into a giant mixing bowl. To that, add two small cans of cream of mushroom soup and two small cans of tomato soup, then some shredded cheese. Mix. Pour it into a greased baking dish and cover with more shredded cheese and french-fried onions. Bake. It can be made cheaply and in large quantities, and it freezes well.

See? Simple. I don’t need rare Kobe beef topped with hand-picked asparagus, jumbo crab meat, and hollandaise sauce…though steak Oscar does sound good.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/simple/

Tell me what you think!

