I’m not dour. Really.

I’ve often been accused, on more than one occasion, of being too serious. Meaning, I have to assume, that I don’t walk around all day with a grin on my face. Now, I take rather strenuous offense to that, because I don’t think I’m grim-faced and angry all the time. I just don’t have a smile plastered on my face all the time. It bothers me when people assume this — I have battled with depression, and yes, there are days when I just feel incredibly “blah,” but that doesn’t mean I’m unable to have fun or laugh or find joy in the every day. I am! I don’t know where, why, or when this assessment of me got started, but it’s followed me my whole life, and no matter how much I try to shake it, it never seems to work. Hmm.

Is there anything people get wrong about you? If so, what is it, and do you ever get angry with people for reading you wrong?

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/seriousness/

One comment

  1. everydaystrangeblog · February 13

    I totally get this, people often think I’m angry or upset when I’m really just thinking 🖤

    Like

Tell me what you think!

