Soothing and relaxing or nothing at all.

I don’t always need noise around me to fill space, as sometimes just sitting quietly with a book suits me fine, but when I want something in the background, I prefer gentle, meditative sounds, rather than harsh, loud ones. Sounds like rain falling or waves crashing or one of my favorites, my oscillating fans. They serve two purposes — they not only cool off the room, but they make noise, and I can’t sleep at night without them. I can read in dead silence, but I can’t sleep in it. When the power goes out, even in the dead of winter, I cannot fall back asleep until the power comes back on, because without my fans, it’s too quiet. I just can’t sleep like that. Are any of you like that as well? Do you need something in the background while you sleep, like a fan or a noise machine?

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/sound/

Tell me what you think!

