Vinyl is best.

vinyl

I started my vinyl collection about 10 years ago. I started by making a list of albums I really wanted to own, researching what quality I was interested in, and about how much it would cost, then hit up eBay looking for them. I don’t have anywhere near the collection my dad has, but that’s because he started his record collection in 1963, when vinyl records were how you listened to music. There were no CDs or mp3s back then. There’s something about pulling the album out of the inner sleeve, placing it on the turntable, then lifting the arm to drop the needle (ahem, stylus) on it. That warm, crackling, full sound…you can’t beat it. I’m sure audiophiles will stamp their feet and scream that digital is best, and for portability and travel, you can’t beat it. However, if I’m in my house wanting to listen to music, I put the iPod down and pick up The Dark Side of the Moon or Zep IV or Kind of Blue. On vinyl.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/record/

One comment

  1. Madeline Scribes · March 13

    My husband started collecting vinyl a few years ago and has amassed quite a catalog of music. I started adding the 45’s to a spreadsheet last month and I don’t think I’ll ever be finished! Do you have yours sorted electronically?

    Like

Tell me what you think!

