It was better in the 1980s.

conion-c-100-F-by-owerko

Guess what, boys and girls?  We called these “ghetto blasters.” We weren’t very creative.

Back in the day, before the Internet, before mp3s and file sharing, if you wanted a song without paying for it, you had to tape it off the radio. There was a skill to doing this. You had to have a blank cassette in your tape deck already, and you had to be very speedy with pressing PLAY and RECORD at the same time, then PAUSE when the song ended. I still have an entire shoebox of cassettes I made back in the late 80s and all through the 90s, and sometimes when I’m feeling particularly nostalgic, I’ll put one in my stereo (it has a tape deck!) and listen to it. It reminds me of a much more innocent time, back when you didn’t have instant gratification when it came to music. Your favorite radio station might not play your favorite song every day, so you had to be vigilant and wait for it, then be really quick to record the song without any of the irritating DJ noise or commercials/ads at the end.

Like I said, it was an art. A dying art, really. Why do all this when you can download a program to rip audio from YouTube videos in HQ? I miss being a kid/teenager.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/pause/

3 comments

  1. Ron. · April 2

    I’ve got a wall full of those pirated cassettes. Their rack hangs just above my shelves full of vinyl.

    Like

    • Beth · April 2

      I have quite a few vinyl albums, and I don’t care how anachronistic they are. I love them. My parents bought me a record player for Christmas 10 years ago, and of all the gifts I’ve gotten in my life, no matter the reason, that is the absolute best.

      Like

  2. My automobile of 2001 has a cassette player too and I do have cassette.

    Like

Tell me what you think!

