It ain’t just a river in Egypt.

shutterstock_8455906

In case you need a visual representation of the blog title, this is the Nile River.

I think denial is a natural state of being. In life, there will always come to people a time or a moment when they don’t want to believe what they’re being told or what they’re seeing. Maybe a loved one has just died suddenly or they walked in on their partner in bed with someone else. Maybe they received news from their doctor that they are suffering from _________. Whatever the case may be, I don’t think it’s inherently wrong to initially, push back at reality. When it continues for longer than a few moments, that’s when it’s a problem, but an initial gut reaction? Perfectly understandable. I’ve done it, my sister has done it, my parents have done it, my friends have done it. No one likes accepting unhappy or unwelcome news. Of course, that may sound rich coming from someone whose avatar is the hashtag “#notmypresident,” but then, that’s not denial. That’s a self-preservation technique to keep me out of the funny farm. Just because I accept reality doesn’t mean I have to like it.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/denial/

Tell me what you think!

