“Punctual” is not an option.

29234_PE116289_S5

Why are clocks always presented in photos as being stopped at 10:10? This has baffled me for years.

I am absurdly punctual. By this I mean, if you tell me or ask me to be somewhere at say, 9:30, I’ll get there at 9:00 just to be safe. Maybe you can see me early. Maybe finding a place to park will take time. Maybe I’ll have to use the bathroom first. Who knows. Either way, I don’t like being late, and I don’t like when other people are late too. I understand that shit happens, and if you call and tell me you’re going to be late because of X reason, I’m cool with that. You had the courtesy to tell me, which is polite. If you don’t call ahead and tell me what’s going on, I’m going to assume you don’t respect me enough to get your ass in gear in a timely manner, which is going to make me think a little less of you whenever you do show up.

The same is true of projects or other chores/jobs that need to get done by a certain time. When I was in school, college particularly, I would have any and all homework done at least 2-3 days before it was due, to give me time to go back over it and make any corrections I think might be necessary. The only thing I had trouble with were papers. For the life of me, no matter how much time I allotted myself to work on research papers or essays, I would constantly be finishing them at the last minute. Of course, it always garnered me A’s, so I didn’t question the process, but still. It was annoying.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/timely/

6 comments

  1. Ruth · April 13

    I’m always arriving early for things, too 🙂

    Like

  2. mumsthewordblog1 · April 13

    Exactly! I hate being late 😃🐻

    Like

  3. Ms. Teenager · April 13

    I like being punctual but I never am… :p

    Like

  4. ZacharyWGilbert · April 13

    This felt like something I would read in the waiting room, or in class, or at an event, that I was early to, and had a few moments to read something awesome. Well done!

    Like

  5. updownflight · April 13

    I’m very punctual too. Everyone in my family is, except my husband. I’ve learned over the years to tell him we have to be somewhere at 5 pm instead of 5:30 pm. Then we get there at 5:30 pm and all is OK.

    I once went to my therapists and arrived EXACTLY at 3 pm. She once told me to wait in my car if I arrived earlier since her office is in her house. So every time for the first four to five times I rang her bell at exactly 3 pm. She then asked me why I’m so punctual. To that I asked “Do you want me to be late? If so, how late? I’ll be sure to be at your door at exactly that late time”.

    Like

  6. i thought i m the only one who has to arrive everywhere early. friends hate me for this

    Like

Tell me what you think!

