Who needs caffeine?

I’m one of those weird people who don’t need coffee or soda to wake up in the morning. I can get up at 6 a.m. and be dressed and out the door by 7 a.m. with nothing more than water in my system. I’ve always been like that. It used to drive my roommates in college bonkers because I always took early morning classes so that my afternoons/evenings were free, and while they were struggling to so much as run a brush through their hair, I was dressed, fed, and out the door with nary a yawn in sight. My only concession to my advanced age (I’m 34) is I wake up with an alarm clock now, but only because I wear a sleep mask, and light doesn’t affect me the way it did before I wore one. For the longest time, even when I was in college, I didn’t use an alarm clock. My body just knew, instinctively, that I had to get up at a certain time during the week. My sister on the other hand, she needs an alarm clock AND both her and her boyfriend’s phones to make sure she gets up in time to get to work (she’s a teacher), and she never fails to give me shit for it.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/jolt/

4 comments

  1. I’m so envious of you. I couldn’t take morning classes or work the early shift. Now that I’ve worked a solid 8-5 job for nearly two years, I automatically wake up at 7am every morning.

    Like

  2. I don’t need caffeine either

    Like

  3. updownflight · April 17

    I wish I was more chipper in the morning. I take sedating night time meds that make it impossible. I love the early morning when I (on occasion) wake up briefly. The birds chirping. It’s a special time, I know.

    Like

  4. cagedunn · April 17

    Eventually, it wears off. After about 8.5 yrs of ‘retirement’ – but it’s helped if you keep changing time zones (and not going to the ones that are later than you are now – or you wake up even earlier than the cows!).
    Yes, I now sleep in until 0645 (unless the dog wants out before that). A body habituates itself because it likes the security of habits and rituals – are we really so removed from the cave-time?

    Like

Tell me what you think!

