Knit one, purl two.

98280316-56a1e52e5f9b58b7d0c4617d

Don’t these bundles of yarn resemble scoops of ice cream…if you have visual impairment issues?

I’ve always wanted to learn how to crochet, but since artistic competence skipped a generation, I suck at anything that remotely resembles art. I can’t draw, I can’t paint, I can’t play any musical instruments, I can’t even embroider. I taught myself how to sew enough that I could reattach buttons or hem trousers or repair rips/holes in clothing, but that’s about it. My mom used to make pillows for my sister and I when we were little, and she’d embroider these beautiful cases for us — mine was pink and purple, hers was orange and yellow. My dad can draw wonderfully. Me…I can’t do shit. I’d be jealous if it wasn’t fruitless. I’ve tried over the years to get the hang of crochet especially, because I’d love to knit myself a big blanket, but every time I try, I fail, and then get depressed. Maybe one day. Maybe.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/yarn/

3 comments

  1. everydaystrangeblog · April 30

    I tried to pick up knitting once- did not work out 😦

    Like

  2. mycreatorscreation · April 30

    Don’t give up, keep trying. I did, and you may also learn some valuable life lessons along the way….If nothing else, crocheting also taught me how to follow instructions closely, because if I didn’t, the pattern was not turning out.

    Like

  3. mumsthewordblog1 · May 1

    Begin by knitting a simple scarf!! There are so many gorgeous yarns and colours available to buy 😃🐻

    Like

Tell me what you think!

