Me? Control freak? Nooooooo…..

unnamed

Hehe, like I watch TV on TV anymore. I don’t even own a TV. Thank you, Internet.

I hate not being in control of whatever situation I’m in. I don’t know why or when it started, but I get incredibly uncomfortable when I have to leave things up to someone else. I suppose it’s linked to how much I dislike working in groups. I always do better when I’m by myself because that way, I’m solely responsible for the output. If it sucks or looks bad, it’s on me. When you’re in a group, you personally may do a great job, but if other people drop the ball, and the whole project fails, you get swept along with it, even though you weren’t why it failed. It also extends to the way I look or how I act. I don’t like looking stupid or looking foolish, so I avoid doing things that will make that happen, like karaoke, dancing, or acting. I understand that those are all fun things, and enjoy watching other people do them, but I can’t stand the idea of people laughing at me, particularly when I’m not doing something intentionally comical.

Are any of you like this as well? Do you remember when you first noticed it about yourself? Have you ever tried to change it, and if so, were you successful?

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/control/

4 comments

  1. daodeqi · 20 Days Ago

    https://everydaystrangeblog.wordpress.com/2017/04/29/muse-of-the-day-43/
    Don’t miss out on life because you are afraid of something, someone might, maybe, be thinking. Are you a psychic mind-reader? (If you are, please don’t tell anyone what you see inside my head 🙂 )

    Like

  2. D. A. M. Steelman · 20 Days Ago

    I hate working in groups. It is a couple things, really. One, I am not big on groups of strangers. Two, when people don’t listen to my ideas, I get upset.
    Still, when I have to do it, I make myself. 🙂 Thanks for posting!

    Like

  3. Agree. Hate working in groups because I’m always the one picking up the slack, because I am the crazed perfectionist.

    Literally going through this right now at work. At this very second. Actually on WP, taking a break, because I can’t look at it anymore without wanting to tear my hair out.

    Like

  4. cwhiteweb · 20 Days Ago

    I agree with so much you wrote. I don’t like working in groups, hate looking a fool (unless its intention with my people), and definitely hate not being in control. That also led to my fear of water. I don’t swim because I have no way of controlling the behaviour of water. Hehe so I am with you on this one!! 😉

    Like

Tell me what you think!

