Feeling lost.

I can say with 100% honesty that I’d would absolutely describe myself right now as “adrift.” That can happen when you’re unemployed, and you’re trying to figure out what you’re doing and when (hopefully) your next job will come. It’s difficult to feel like you have no purpose or sense of direction, and when I was in college, I didn’t feel that way. I knew what I wanted to do, and I knew how I wanted to do it. These past 11 ½ years, though…they’ve been rough. I try to stay positive knowing that negativity won’t change anything, but it’s hard. It’s hard because it’s going against my natural inclination. I’m not a bubbly, vivacious person. I’ve always been a bit quiet, a bit of a pensive, more than a little bit pessimistic. Forcing myself to do a 180 and be the exact opposite of all that, not just in job interviews, but in general, is mentally and physically exhausting.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/adrift/

2 comments

  1. runvagabound · May 22

    It shouldn’t be that hard.
    🙂
    It is simple… you just live day by day…. trying to be happy no matter what…

    Like

  2. Therese · May 22

    I’m an optimist, but I know what you mean. Your words are so familiar that I honestly thought they were written by my husband with some help from an a English teacher (English is not our first language.) The good thing is you are self-aware, and you admit you’re a pessimist. I guess the next best thing to do is to silence your pessimism, and just start doing something. I wish you the best!

    Like

Tell me what you think!

