Life Update: Please stop smoking.

As I mentioned in a previous blog post, my mother has been ill the past week, which is why I haven’t been blogging much, and she came home from the hospital yesterday. With oxygen. She smoked for over 50 years, so the fact this day came wasn’t a surprise to my sister or I, maybe even not to her or my dad. Still, it was distressing. She’s not dying, she’s not terminal, but she has a chronic lung condition that requires her to be on oxygen most of the day. It’s a lot for all of us to get used to, her most of all, but we’re making the best of it, as best we can. So if I can leave all of you with a PSA — DON’T SMOKE. IF YOU’RE SMOKING NOW, QUIT. QUIT NOW.

Now, on to today’s Musical Interlude Friday, which thanks to the Daily Prompt for the day, will definitely have plenty of brass. It’s also a shout-out to my hometown of Chicago, because who doesn’t love some rock and roll horns? Enjoy!

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/brassy/

4 comments

  1. Sorry to hear that. My PawPaw died from lung cancer and even when his doctors told him to quit smoking, he refused.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth · June 2

      Oh, she’s quitting, and so is my dad. My sister and I will break their arms if need be. Well, not literally, but they know we’re serious about it. We’re not going through this again several years down the road because our dad’s lungs went to shit too. She knows it’ll be hard to taper off, and her doctors know she might fall off the wagon once or twice, but she WILL quit.

      Like

  2. Vonita · June 2

    Sorry to hear. Smoking is terrible and so are addictions.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Our Flaws and All · July 27

    Sorry to hear. I actually took the step last week to go see a doctor for help with quitting. I’ve been smoking for 20 years. Roughly a pack to a pack and a half a day. I was prescribed with Zyban. Besides the sleepless nights, I am proud to say that in a week, I have cut down to 5 cigarettes a day. My QUIT DATE is Aug. 6th, 2017!!

    Like

Tell me what you think!

