They’re not fake news.

6277209256_934f20da10_b

You see kids, back in my day, people read things.

I don’t get my news from TV. I read newspapers, albeit online instead of in print, but that’s because ¾ of the papers I read are not local, and it’s easier to read them online the day of instead of getting them several days later. I read the Winston-Salem Journal, the Chicago Tribune, the Washington Post, and the New York Times. I listen to NPR in the mornings, but the bulk of my news coverage comes from reading newspapers. I do not watch cable news or even network news. It’s all crap. The days of Walter Cronkite, Frank McGee, and John Chancellor are long, long gone. When I hear people tearing down the print media, calling them liars/fake news/biased/evil/etc., I wonder where their brains are. If they even have them. Support print media. They’re doing yeoman’s work right now exposing the crimes and corruption of Trump & Co., so give them your time and your money. A country with a free press is a free country.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/paper/

Oh, and because the prompt for yesterday was posted after 8 o’clock, and I wasn’t home in time to pick it up, I’ll do a short write-up for that one too.

28111111983_ed50dc76df_k

Home sweet home.

When I hear “loop” I think “The Loop,” which makes me think of Chicago. No surprise there. I’m sure most Chicagoans who check the Daily Prompts would have thought of that immediately upon reading it. For me, The Loop was where my Dad worked, and when I was a little older, I was allowed to take the Brown Line train downtown to visit him and have lunch, which made me feel very grown up. Thankfully it wasn’t hard to find his office building from the train station, because a 13-year-old walking around downtown Chicago alone could get lost, at least if they don’t know their directions. East is Lake Michigan, so as long as you know where it is, you’ll be fine.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/loop

3 comments

  1. Sandi · June 22

    There is something about opening a fresh newspaper, I enjoy. However, in the past, we used to have a subscription delivered to our door, but they quickly pile up and there wasn’t anywhere local to take for recycling. Our downstairs neighbor, in our condo complex, was a writer for the L.A. Times. In today’s time, reading online is something I don’t do as much, and you certainly need to find a reputable source. Sadly, I only read tid-bits here and there, not nearly as much as to when I’d flip page-by-page of the paper while drinking coffee.

    Like

  2. Sascha Darlington · June 22

    No, you’re right about the print media. I read the Washington Post and I find their editorials are thoughtful and bipartisan.

    People have been just so quick to jump onto bandwagons whether it’s flipflopping or fake news. It would be wonderful if they stopped and thought for themselves. 🙂

    Like

  3. Kenton Lewis · June 22

    NPR lost me when they got rid of Bob Edwards over a decade ago. The word was they wanted younger voices. I think they just wanted a liberal milquetoast voice.
    It is naive to suggest any news is not biased. It all is. It can be subtle or in-your-face. I would rather read or watch in-your-face and be able to scream obscenities than be hoodwinked into submission subtleties.
    Fake-news is a bit of a misnomer; it’s more like misleading.
    Likewise, as to the reader or consumer, we drift to what sounds good and think it’s not biased.
    Yep, I miss the smell of newsprint.

    Like

Tell me what you think!

