…or is it Merry-go-Round?

merry-go-round

Am I the only one who, as an adult, finds the faces of the horses creepy? No?

When I was a little girl, I loved riding the carousel (or merry-go-round) when my parents would take my sister and I to carnivals or amusement parks. I never liked riding on the horses though, I always rode in the little bench seats that were scattered on it. My sister loved the horses. Still does, actually. I’m sure if she could, even at the age of 30, she’d hop right on and laugh at everyone laughing at her. She’s carefree like that. Now that I’m older, the few times a year my sister and I go to carnivals or state fairs, I don’t get on the carousel. I like the ferris wheel and that’s about it. Give me the ferris wheel and a big funnel cake covered in powered sugar and chocolate syrup, and I’m good.

As a special bonus, here are The Hollies singing a song written about this very topic. Enjoy!

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/carousel/

One comment

  1. luckyjc007 · August 9

    I use to think the faces of the horses were unnatural looking and sort of mean, but I enjoyed riding them just because they were horses! It took me fifty-five years to finally have the opportunity to ride real horses! I was determined to carry out my dream of riding…so I took lessons…absolutely loved it and won a couple of ribbons before giving it up for different things. I enjoyed the song, but I can’t remember hearing it before.

    Like

Tell me what you think!

