Some dreams die hard.

Daily writing prompt
When you were five, what did you want to be when you grew up?

A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away, little Designer Sophisticate wanted to be a ballerina. Then she stopped growing at 5’2 and put on weight and her dreams were dashed against the rocks of reality. I’m neither tall enough nor slim enough to be a ballet dancer, either professionally or amateurishly, but that’s alright. I can still enjoy watching the ballet and pretend I’m the one on stage doing all the fouettés and pirouettes. Swan Lake is probably my favorite ballet, not just for the dancing, but for the music. Tchaikovsky wrote some impressive scores, but the Overture, for me, is the best of the lot. I know a lot of people will pick something from The Nutcracker, and it wouldn’t be wrong, but I gotta go with Swan Lake on this one.

One comment

  1. @1942dicle · 30 Days Ago

    Ahh, yes a ballerina, a theme dancer..I remember torturing my toes on the tile floor for years to make me stand up.. I knew I had the talent of ‘beat’ but no toe shoes… Ended up with serious bunion joints. I still adore moving to music as an octogenarian. Dee Tezelli, author of 24+eBooks/Paperbacks. Find me on Amazon Kindle books.

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think!